The only sure thing

Newsday,  4 march 2007:
 
At 3:55 a.m., a 25-year-old man was crossing Delancey Street near the Williamsburg Bridge in Manhattan when he was struck by a 1997 Ford van operated by a 38-year-old man traveling with the light, police said.

The pedestrian, who was not identified, was taken to Bellevue Hospital Center, where he was pronounced dead on arrival.

The driver, who also was not identified, was issued two summonses unrelated to the death, police said.

That unidentified 25 year old man was my good friend Chris Webber, former head of Bike and Build, and all around good guy.  I wasn’t there, I didn’t see it, I was in Vermont, it’s over and there’s nothing I could have done or can do about it.  The only sure thing in life is death.
 
 
 
==== updated 4/3/2007 ====
 
Having been to Boston then Vassar for Chris’ memorial services and such, I’ve had time to think about it.  I suppose the lesson to take away is to be happier in life.  The last time I saw chris, we went out to this bar/pizza place in brooklyn near bike and build, and he told me his parents had scheduled a "teleconference" with him to discuss future plans.  He was enjoying the NY scene and all that, not really worried so much about the long term plan, and then bam, hit by a truck.  He was a good guy- he wasn’t perfect or unconflicted or anything like that-he was just normal like everyone else.  maybe a bit better- certainly a cooler guy than me, really a nice guy-the kind of guy who would bend over backward for a friend… the last time I talked to him he hooked me up with the last slot on the trip I wanted to be on for Bike and Build.  so in a way I am doing it for Bill and Joanie (his parents) and Nick (his brother).  I wasn’t his closest friend by any stretch of the imagination, but we had known each other since middle school, and that counts for something.
 
The take away lesson is to live life while you’re living it, because eventually you won’t be.
Leave a Reply

